Parallel Parking

I envy people who’ve got it together.  I’m not talking about the people who’ve got life figured out and are living perfectly happy all the time (lets face it, I’m pretty sure that isn’t even possible).  What I’m talking about are those people who know what their passion is in life.  The ones who know what they love to do and work hard to make it happen.  I’ve got a sense of the person I want to be (yoga guru, real food enthusiast, vintage lover, successful gardener and happy minimalist among other things…) but what I want to do? That’s a different story.

Do I love any one topic/subject/field enough to dedicate my life to it?  Doesn’t seem like that’s the case.  At this point in my life I’m kind of okay with that I mean, we can’t all be Evan’s who’ve been obsessed with weather since childhood so naturally, they peruse a degree in meteorology… I mean isn’t that why vague degree programs exist?  For those who have no clue but feel they need a degree regardless?  I’m a supper driven person so I’m always working really hard in some direction or other but after realizing that I wasn’t interested in law school (at least not for the foreseeable future), I feel like I’ve been driving blind for the past few years.

I have been working hard to broaden my future career prospects volunteering, working, and interning in all kinds of fields through undergrad and now grad school but honestly, I have no idea what I want to do or even what I have to offer to the world.

Earlier this week Evan and I took his sister out to practice parallel parking for her driving test in a few weeks.  When we got to the parking lot and set up the cones Evan and I teamed up to do our best instructing.  His sister totally rocked it (in spite of Evan and I arguing on the sidelines about who was the better at parallel parking) and helping her helped me to recognize that while parallel parking isn’t a supper glamorous or extraordinarily sought after skill to have, I’m not half bad at it.  I’m not a totally skill-less person!

yay

In all honesty though, I’m a great student but I’m definitely looking forward to being finished with school (at least for the next few years) and really starting my life.  I hope that someday I’ll enjoy whatever job I settle into but at this point I’m thinking that regardless of the job I get, the goal is to work to live, not live to work.  I’ve got big ideas about the life I want to lead, not about the job I want to have.  I’ve just got to believe that it’ll all work out in the end…and that I’ve got more marketable skills then parallel parking.

 

8 thoughts on “Parallel Parking

  1. I have a lot of Ideas about what I’d like to do for a career, but I’m not there yet, and don’the have much college accomplished. I feel encouraged that despite being in grad school, you are still unsure about what your future holds, but are still optimistic about it. Thanks!

    Like

    1. I used to think you had to have it together but I’ve noticed that lots of people are in the same boat so you’re definately not alone! As long as you keep moving forward & trying to build your skills in some direction, you’ll be okay (at least that’s what I tell myself). Someday in the future we’ll look at our lives and be happy with the way things turned out ☺. Good luck with everything!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love that you put yourself out there. I didn’t find my passion until I was unemployed, searching for jobs that met my skill level, and then I went out of my comfort zone. Now I’m a manager at a non profit agency, and I do a multitude of different things, which I love, because I’m not a mundane person. The same thing day in and day out drives me crazy, but I have so many passions, that I wasn’t sure what I should focus on.It is important to keep the mind frame to work to live instead of live to work, but finding a job you love makes it feel less like work! Best of luck to you!! I hope you find it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, much appriciated! I always wanted to do something meaningful and as much as I complain about grad school, I think deep down I chose to jump right into it was because I’m afraid I won’t find that job (no idea what it might be) that I enjoy & that makes me feel like I’m being useful to the world. Staying in school longer has helped me to keep living (and dreaming) that someday I’ll get an interesting job but for now it’s much less scarry to churn out papers. Someday soon I won’t be able to hide behind school work anymore & part of me is supper excited but another part is worried I’ll wake up one day in a job I don’t like… I guess these anxieties are all just part of adulting. Hopefully I will find something I enjoy in the long run- I’m glad you did (so it’s totally possible for me too)! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your honesty. I think as long as you know what you enjoy from life, everything else will fall into place, and it sounds like you do! I have loved art since I could hold a crayon, but as I have grown older there are so many more aspects of life that I love. They all build off of one another. The joys in life are endless, and although I like my job, my favorite part of the day is coming home to the life I have created for myself. So keep doing yoga, gardening, and everything else you enjoy and take what life hand you 😀

    You inspired me to get off my butt and do yoga as well, it has been a couple of weeks, yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping that that’s the case, I used to stress so much about the life plan but lately I’ve been trying to just see where life takes me (easier said then done for this type-A gal). I’ve decided that doing something big with my career to save the world isnt really logical or really possible. As long as someday I can make my corner of the world a better place and the people in it happier, I will have lived a good life and as such, helped in a small scale to make the world a happier place to be. I’m just ready to be done with school at this point so I can have the tiniest bit more time to enjoy more of the things (besides career-centric things) I enjoy doing. Thank you for sharing your kind words & for making me smile ☺.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s funny, I always thought I was a type B person until I met my boyfriend. He is the real type B and he can’t understand why I make lists and plan and overthink everything, and I can’t understand how he doesn’t! Haha, but opposites really do attract sometimes. I think you’re right, though, making a change in our small corner of the world is all we can do, and that is a lot! If we all did that, the world would be a much happier and more peaceful place 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

